Advanced Search

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Self-Service Upload locations

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Self-Service Upload locations

    My customer uploads a file using Self-Service, but instead of doing the processing, they would like us to do some custom work, so they choose the 'Processing Later' option. They uploaded the file, but how do I know where it went so that we can do the processing for them?

    For file uploads using Self-Service, there is a configurable location (on the environment level) that these files will upload to that can be set within ADD Web. In the Administration section of ADD Web, go to the ADD Settings tab. Under the Integration Service section, there is a path called 'Self-Service Upload Network Share Location'. All files uploaded by anyone using Self-Service will upload to this location.

    At this location, each upload will be foldered under an 'Upload' folder named after the Media ID in Media Manager. If you open Media Manager, the upload will be shown there as a Delivery. Open the delivery to view the Media. The Media ID number at the top will coincide with the upload folder name. In the Media Record, you can also see the Network Share path that the media was uploaded to.

    Keep in mind, this only applies to uploads where 'Processing Later' is selected.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by Ipro_Krista; 03-21-2017, 07:11 AM.

  • #2
    Hi Krista,
    But how do we let Self service know that there is some custom work to be done on the files it has uploaded prior to it moves it to eCapture for discovery?

    Comment


    • #3
      Originally posted by Vaibhav View Post
      Hi Krista,
      But how do we let Self service know that there is some custom work to be done on the files it has uploaded prior to it moves it to eCapture for discovery?
      If some level of work is required on the files before they're processed, then a data upload may be preferable to full self service.
      "Never tell your people how to do things. Tell them what you want and they'll amaze you with their creativity." - Gen. George S. Patton

      Comment


      • #4
        Originally posted by Vaibhav View Post
        Hi Krista,
        But how do we let Self service know that there is some custom work to be done on the files it has uploaded prior to it moves it to eCapture for discovery?
        Hi Vai,
        You have a good point as well, maybe for the Self-Service uploads that aren't pushed through to processing, a feature request might be that the Self-Service job submission screen has a box to allow for Notes to be entered when someone is just using the upload feature. That way, when a user uploads but doesn't process, the team is aware and can read the notes and/or reach out to the contact to see what the data requires.

        Comment


        • #5
          Thanks Krista.

          Comment


          • #6
            To add to this a bit more, when data is uploaded using Self-Service but is processed immediately into review, it does not go into the Self-Service upload location. When you process into review, you select the Client the data should be processed for. Since ADD then knows which Client, it is able to direct the upload into the eCapture Client Directory. It will still be foldered as upload## with the Media ID, just the location of the upload folder is now in the Client Directory.

            Comment

            Working...
            X